Mastered

28 Sep

Today is my second day off in a row, which I’m very grateful to have. I love my new job, but I need a day or two to catch up on some sleep and just be lazy. I do like being busy all the time, and having a job really combats boredom and complacency. However, it’s nice to have one or two days off here and there to regroup.

I’m spending the day researching graduate school programs and the GRE. My top two choices for schools right now are The Art Institute of Chicago and George Washington, both of which have excellent art therapy programs. It’s a little strange to be resarching schools again, because when you do it in high school, looking for undergraduate programs, you don’t really consider what’s next. You kind of just think your next four years are set, and not really looking at what comes after. Graduate school is definitely more of a research commitment, as well as more complicated to get into. There are so many requirements! I need to take the GRE here in the next few weeks so that I can have the option of taking it again this fall if I need to. I don’t know much about it, so I have no idea how long it takes to get your scores back.

I’ve had these schools in the back of my mind for a while, but haven’t done major research on them. Now I really need to decide which programs I’m most interested in, which ones sound like they would be a good fit for me, look up testing and admissions information, look up housing options, all that good stuff. It’s like looking for a job all over again – it’s a full-time commitment to find all this stuff! Hopefully my efforts will pay off, though. I’m still not sure if it will be next fall or the one after that I go to grad school, but it definitely won’t happen if I don’t do this research!

One Response to “Mastered”

  1. Tnelson 1 October, 2009 at 12:24 am #

    Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya

Leave a Reply

