Tweet Tweet

26 Sep

I do not understand the purpose or the appeal of Twitter. Really, I don’t think people want to know what I’m doing or thinking every minute of every day. And I certainly don’t have the time to look up what they’re doing, either. I just don’t feel like I need to be glued to my computer all day, or sending texts on my phone for everyone to see. It’s just a little much. Life goes by so fast, I don’t want to waste it by constantly being distracted by my phone.

It’s kind of a fine line here, and I don’t want to be hypocritical. After all, I have a blog. And I know that my everyday life isn’t exactly the most riveting thing to read. But still, it’s a little bit different, because blogs usually aren’t updated as often as Twitter things are. Also there’s a little bit more room to work with around here, because I’m not limited to characters. And I’m not reporting in real time.

I don’t know. There are just so many reason why I don’t understand it.

A couple of friends I knew in high school have had babies recently, and their favorite pasttimes have been to update pregnancy and delivery information all the time. I mean, there’s nothing wrong at all with posting pictures of the new baby on your Facebook. What maybe crosses the line is when you update your status with how many centimeters your cervix is dilated. T.M.I. Also, I do not care to see pictures of your baby still covered in fluid and gross stuff. Babies are cute, but it takes a few hours for them to get that way. It’s just a little information overload. The miracle of life is a beautiful thing, but I really don’t think everyone wants to witness it. Especially when they can tell you’re updating Twitter from your hospital bed. Aren’t there more important things to do? And even though it’s probably going to be obsolete, I don’t know if kids would really appreciate knowing their first few hours of life were displayed on Facebook. Just a thought.

I feel old-fashioned. Well, not exactly that old, because I’m pretty updated with current technology. But I just can’t get on board with the Twitter thing. I just really don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

