Ten Things Tuesday – September 15

15 Sep

Ten things I want to do this fall:

1. Go camping. It’s been a long time since I’ve been real camping. I mean down on the ground, in a tent, campfires with s’mores, the works. There’s no better time than the fall to do this.

2. Go up to Blowing Rock. It’s a beautiful drive and a cute little town. I’m especially wanting to go after baking that cake last week, from the Mitford books. I want to go discover all the fun little secrets it has. Little day trips like this are the perfect thing to do in the fall, because it’s just so beautiful. The weather usually isn’t too cold, with just that small hint of crispness in the air that I love. The leaves turning on the mountains is just gorgeous, and there’s just this clear quality to the air that you don’t really get any other time of year. I think this is the perfect setting for small-town America.

3. Go to the Apple Festival. It’s been two or three years since I’ve been, and it’s such a fall staple. So much good food and lots of things to look at in the craft booths. You can get the best apple butter and apple stack cakes down there. Not only that, but it’s a great place to go mullet counting.

4. Drive down to Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge and drive through the park, go shopping downtown, and eat at The Best Italian. It would be even better if we could do this when they have their big craft fair or artisan fair or whatever it is. I’ve never been but Melody says it’s really fun.

5. Make a big pile of leaves and jump in it. I cannot remember the last time I did this.

6. Spend time in downtown Jonesborough. This is one of the best places to be in the fall, and there are some great little shops down there. I’d really like to go back down there and see what has changed in the last few years. I’ve heard there are some great new shops down there, so I’m excited to do that. And to just generally walk around and feel the fall weather.

7. Go back down to Converse for a few weekends to see friends. I’m hoping to do this in the next week so that I can help out my little sisters when they get their  little sisters. I can’t wait to meet them!

8. Carve a pumpkin. It just isn’t fall or Halloween without carved pumpkins.

9. Find a great Halloween costume. Last year, with our sexy inanimate object theme, will be really hard to top, but I think it will be fun to try. And just maybe, Melody will have a house by then, and will be having an amazing Halloween party. Along with this comes trying out the new recipe for hot buttered rum that I found recently. Definitely want to try that, because it sounds truly amazing.

10. Take the GRE. Obviously not a very fun thing to be doing, but I need to be doing it very soon if I have any hope or desire of going to grad school next fall. Gotta get those scores in on time!

Leave a Reply

