9.09.09

9 Sep

Happy 9/9/09 to everyone! I love when cool stuff like that happens, when the date looks neat. This won’t happen again for a hundred years, so enjoy it while you can! And to those of you buying The Beatles Rock Band today, I’m jealous. I totally would, except that I don’t have a Wii. Although I did have a dream last night that my mom bought one for me so I could buy the game. Just as well, anyway; I’m not one for video games. Although that new remastered collection sounds very appealing…

I had a job interview earlier this afternoon, the first one I’ve been able to get in my months of searching. It went really well; there are still some more people interviewing so I didn’t hear anything definite today. I think I would enjoy the position, though. It’s for an educator position at our local creative/art/science museum. I used to go there all the time when I was little, and I remembered a lot more of it than I thought I would. I’m keeping my fingers crossed, hoping something comes out of it. It’s not a full-time position, but still, it’s something. And it’s better to have something coming in than nothing.

On my way back from the interview, I stopped by the yarn store. They’re having their anniversary sale, which happens every September to celebrate their opening. They have a really cute way of offering discounts. The owner has a velvet bag full of different colored buttons. Each color represents a different discount amount. The lower discounts are obviously more common in the bag, and bigger discounts have less buttons. I pulled a yellow button today, which was 25% off. I got several new skeins of yarn. I haven’t been knitting in a very long time, but I do like good yarns. I tend to be a collector of supplies, keeping the things I like until I find the perfect thing to put with them or have the perfect inspiration for a project. And then, because I’ve been saving that special supply, I have it on hand when I need it!

The weather here has been so crazy today! Currently it’s very sunny and nice outside, still quite warm but with that hint of fall in the air that I love so much. There are even some leaves starting to turn colors and fall! But this morning, you never would have guessed it would turn out to be such a nice day. It stormed really bad last night. I remember waking up at 4:30 this morning, delirious from sleep, to the sounds of thunder shaking the house. We had such bright flashes of lightning, too! I haven’t heard a storm that intense in a very long time. I love to lay in bed and listen to thunderstorms, but this one was a little much. I think, had I been very little, I would have run into my parents room to protect myself from the storm. I’m a very deep sleeper, so it was a wild storm if it was loud enough to wake me up! When I woke up later this morning, it was still raining cats and dogs here, and was so dark in my room that it still felt like night. Needless to say it took a lot to drag me out of bed today. I was so warm and cozy in my bed, with my down comforter and many pillows, and my stuffed rabbit to protect me. Going out into the rain wasn’t very appealing today. But it turned out to be a rather nice day after all. It’s crazy weather!

Today is also my mom’s birthday. We are celebrating with some presents and cake later tonight. Wednesday is usually my night to cook dinner, but I kind of thought the job interview would be my number one priority today. It doesn’t take me the entire day to cook a meal, but I like to take my time and really make food special. We decided that, for tonight, we’d go out to eat at a restaurant my mom chooses. Instead of dinner, I did decide to make her a cake. I’m making orange marmalade cake, inspired by the Mitford series books by Jan Karon. One of the characters in those books always makes her famous orange marmalade cake, which always sounds so delicious. I made it for my mom several years ago when she was really into those books, and I thought it would be great to do it again for her birthday. I think she’ll be really surprised. I think she’s going to like her presents, too, and be surprised by those as well. We got her a perfume that she really likes, but has no idea she’s getting. We found a sample of it in a magazine several months ago, and she loved it. She’s also getting the new CD of one of her favorite singers. I think it’s going to be a very special birthday. I think birthdays should be special; it’s the one day out of the year that’s yours (even though technically you share it with other people all over the world), and I think it should be a day to celebrate you. There’s no better excuse for a party than that!

One Response to “9.09.09”

  1. MARI 9 September, 2009 at 5:28 pm #

    Happy Birthday to MOM! It’s party time! wonderful post.

Leave a Reply

