Ten Things Tuesday – September 1

1 Sep

Ten things I don’t believe in:

1. Insane asylums. It really upsets me to hear about mental patients being treated in such isolated, horrible ways. I think there are so many better treatment plans out there than to stick someone in a concrete box and let them wither away in their misery. I truly hope that, in the mental health field, this is a thing of the past.

2. Ghosts. I don’t know if there’s a way to really prove there is some supernatural energy out there such as ghosts. Maybe there is. I’ve never really bought into that, though.

3. Aliens. Again, along the same lines as ghosts. The universe is so vast, I don’t think there’s really any way to know for sure. I could be wrong. But I don’t expect to run into any soon.

4. Prescribing pills as the first step to a treatment plan. Let’s get one thing straight: I DO think there are instances where mood-altering drugs are necessary. There ARE people with problems so severe that they interfere with everyday life. In those cases, I think prescribing medicine is just fine. But I don’t think psychiatrists should immediately jump to this conclusion. There are other options that are less invasive.

5. Public humiliation. There are those out there who would say that public humiliation is the ultimate way to get someone to change their behavior. I’m sorry, but as a past victim of this heinous act, I can tell you that, while effective in changing behavior, it does absolutely nothing but cause the person you are humiliating to lose all respect for you. I’d rather have someone who doesn’t fully do the things I want them to, but that I share a mutual respect with, than someone I’ve shamed enough that they will never step out of line but 100% hates my guts. I see no point in shaming someone this way. Treat everyone the way you want to be treated.

6. Prenups. I think it’s a chicken way out of a marriage. I know that not everything lasts, not everything works out. But really. If you’re going to get into a marriage, I think you need to be mature enough and trust the person you’re with enough to know that it will be all right. A lot of people think it’s a really good idea, but I’d feel like I was signing some sort of medieval marriage contract that made me property. It’s the 21st century. I am NOT the property of a husband, and there will be no contract.

7. Tanning beds. I do like a nice healthy glow, but I don’t like skin cancer. I think it’s a waste of money to pay to get into a big tube of artificial sun, when you could be out in the real sun. Come on. If you’re going to shell out your money, get a good fake tanner. There are some that look very real and are way less harmful than baking all day. You don’t want to be the human equivalent of leftover meatloaf, do you?

8. Big government. Sure, there are things they need to regulate, such as currency and a defense system and such. But all these rules and regulations, for example about public schools, are just failing the system. That No Child Left Behind crap is completely not working; in fact, I think it’s doing exactly the opposite of its intention. I applaud the efforts of our many talented teachers across the country hoping to better the future of our children through quality education, but the government is making this very difficult. Also, even though the costs of healthcare are a bit ridiculous, it’s free market competition that gives us quality doctors. I want minimal government interference in my life, and certainly not in this area. I want to be able to make the best decision about my future health for myself, thank you very much!

9.  Wearing black to a wedding. I know it’s modern, I know it’s slimming. I own several LBDs myself. But there are some things you just don’t do. This is one.

10. Being “done.” I like to cross things off my to-do list as much as the next guy (OK, maybe more than the next guy), but I don’t think there’s ever really such a thing as being done. A project might be finished, but there’s always something else to move on to. Even though I’m done with undergrad, I’m working on graduate school and looking for jobs. I’m not done with my education. I’m not done with a career. No matter how much you acocmplish, there’s always going to be something else to do. Just think of cooking meals, doing the dishes, and laundry. Certainly those things will never cease.

Leave a Reply

