Covered

17 Aug

Currently I’m procrastinating writing a cover letter to send out to the jobs where I have so far applied. My mom wanted me to go out today to HR at one particular organization and drop off a resume and see if there was someone I could talk to. Instead, I’ve been contemplating the best way to start my cover letter. It’s only in idea form so far, but it’s coming along.

This whole job application process is quite time-consuming and stressful. Having names and addresses correct and filling out what seems like endless paperwork is kind of tiring. There have been some days in the past few weeks of job applications where I fill out one, possibly two per day. Between searching for agencies and contacts, as well as updating my resume for each job, is quite a task. No one tells you how time-consuming it really is to look for a job. And so far this has all been over the internet. Nevermind actually driving around looking for jobs and sending out resumes and going to fill out applications. This is starting to be more trouble than it’s worth.

I know it will eventually pay off, but for right now it’s kind of frustrating. It’s not a good time to be looking for a job anyway, and the fact that it takes so much time and effort is a little discouraging. I shouldn’t complain too bad, because I’m lucky to have an education that will get me a good job some day. I just wish that day was today. I’m not expecting to be the recent college grad with the amazing job and salary and benefits, but a little money coming in would be nice. I’ve always enjoyed challenges and accomplishing goals and that sort of thing. And I’ve always been a good, determined worker. I know that once I get a job I will do my best at it. But for now, putting out so much effort with nothing in return is a little frustrating. I’d rather have some rejection emails or phone calls from companies saying they’re not currently hiring or I’m not what they’re looking for than to hear nothing. It’s a little like my efforts are wasted.

I feel a little like I’m in a Catch-22. I don’t want to complain too much about jobs and interviews and that sort of thing, on the off chance that it will lead me to nowhere, and no offers. But on the other hand, I do have to vent about it a little bit. It’s frustrating. I desperately need to start making money, in any amount other than zero. And I need something to do with my days. I don’t have anything to do all day long, and I’m extremely bored. There are only so many episodes of TV to watch, and things to do on the internet. I have to give my computer a rest sometime!

I guess I’m mostly just looking for something to do. I don’t have anywhere to go during the day that doesn’t lead to spending money. Everyone I know around here is working or in school and has their own life, so I’m feeling a little bit like an intruder. I guess I could read a lot, but I’m looking for something to get me out of the house. There’s nowhere to go where I can keep myself occupied.

OK, enough wasting time. I just need to get it overwith and write this cover letter. My mom will be mad enough when she comes home to find me still in pajamas, not having gone out to drop off that letter like I said I would.

Leave a Reply

