Unrequited Love

8 Aug

There’s one thing that kid in Love Actually definitely got right, and that is that there is nothing worse than the total agony of being in love. At least, unrequited love. Or an unrequited crush, whichever you prefer to call it. It’s been the story of my life: have a huge crush on a boy, not be too subtle about it (only because you can’t help it and act like a total fool), and agonize every minute over whether or not he likes you back, and if he does then what in the heck you’re going to do about it.

It’s awful. It’s truly been such a long time since I’ve liked a boy – or even known a boy, for that matter – I just don’t know what to do with myself. I mean really, it’s not something I would easily wish on an enemy. It hurts to be in such a state of unknown. I know I’m making more of this that I really should, but I don’t fall easily. But when I do, it’s hard (that’s what she said). So this is kind of a big deal for me.

I realize this sounds rather childish, and in spite of myself I’ve tried to stop it. No such luck. So for now, I am once again the victim of some cruel twist of fate.

No matter, though. This too shall pass, I hope. I’ll be better in a few weeks, once enough time has passed, and distractions come along, and distance becomes longer. I’ll get over it, and on to the next.

Leave a Reply

