The Green Mile Seems So Long…

29 Jul

I’ve raided my brother’s collection of movies the past few days while he’s been out of town. All excellent choices, I must say. I had no idea he had such good taste.

On Sunday I watched The Usual Suspects, which was very good. I never realized just how much of a Kevin Spacey fan I am, but it’s true. He’s really one of my favorites. I’ll definitely have to watch that one again.

Monday was Fight Club, which I admit I watched mostly because men always seem to love it so much. I wasn’t expecting to like it nearly as much as I did. It’s definitely intense, and not a typical movie, but I loved it. I like fighting the man. It’s pretty mind-blowing. I think that’s kind of how everyone feels, like if we could really be ourselves it would kind of be like that. Just let yourself go, not care what anyone around you says or does, defy authority, do whatever you want, be whatever you want. Giving in to that kind of freedom must be nice.

Yesterday I watched The Green Mile. Man. Haven’t cried like that in a movie in a long time. Definitely a tear-jerker, but totally worth watching. One of the best movies I’ve ever seen. It’s funny how these Stephen King stories can make such fantastic movies. I don’t go for the horror stuff, but between this and The Shawshank Redemption, he’s written two of the greatest stories ever told. I could go on and on about how wonderful this movie is, but you’ll just have to experience it for yourself. There really aren’t words to express it. If you haven’t seen it, you should.

I’m going to be thinking about that one for a really long time. Not sure what I’ll get into tonight, but it will be something for sure. I don’t have anything else to do other than sit around my house and watch movies or read. At least I’m not out spending money. I’m starting to think that perhaps I should be a movie critic, or something. I’ve seen enough recently. Netflix really was the greatest thing to happen to me!

Leave a Reply

