Ten Things Tuesday – July 28

28 Jul

Ten of my life’s biggest regrets:

1. Not saying “I love you” as much as I should. So many times I would have gone back and said it when I didn’t. I might have gotten burned a little more than I already have, but it would have been out there. And maybe not so many missed opportunities.

2. Not being British. Alright, I realize I don’t REALLY have much control over this one. But I really do wish, quite often, that I was British and had a fun accent. I love pretty much everything about British culture, and wish so badly I could be one.

3. Losing touch with friends from high school. It’s inevitable, I suppose. You graduate and move on with your separate lives. Facebook is helping us to keep up with each other via Internet stalking, but that’s just not the same as still talking to these people. Granted, most of them I don’t really miss. But there are some that I wish I had kept in better contact with, even for the sake of having friends still at home when I come back. Life moves on, though, and you can’t remember everyone forever.

4. Not going to Hogwarts. Again, I realize this is completely impossible. I still wish it was real. It would have been far more interesting than my primary and secondary education. Every time I read anything about Harry Potter or watch a movie, I have a burning desire to be part of that universe. It’s just far more interesting than real life.

5. Not keeping up with my French. I took six years of it, enough to still get by a little bit when I travel. Not enough to be fluent. I really wish I was. My goal is that by the next time I got back to Europe, I will be fluent in French. No excuses!

6. Fighting with my brother when we were young. I think this is something that most kids just can’t help. Sibling rivalry exists, and it did in my family in a big way. Luckily, James and I don’t fight nearly as much as we used to. We actually get along most of the time now, when he’s not in a weird, douchey mood. But I do wish that we had been closer growing up. We are just so different, and there’s just enough age in between us that we had very different friends and had our own version of childhood. It’s good that we’re getting to be close now.

7. Not studying abroad for a semester or year. I’m not complaining, because I’ve gotten some amazing travel opportunities. I just wish I’d gotten everything together to be able to study abroad for an extended period of time. I’m lucky to have been able to travel as much as I have, though. I really want to know what it’s like to get dumped off on a completely new continent, only knowing a handful of words and no people, and trying to make it on my own. It’s both scary and thrilling at the same time. I’d love to take on that adventure. 

8. Being so uptight when I was younger. As I get older, I get more and more relaxed and easygoing. I think for a while I’ve been easy to get along with (maybe not so much when I was younger), but I’ve always been the one who follows the rules. Just recently I’ve gotten way more into testing the limits. Not that I’m doing anything illegal, mind you, but life sure is more fun when you’re not always worried about failing at things or what your parents might think. To some extent, the latter still holds true. I don’t like to disappoint my parents, but that’s mostly because I don’t want to be lectured lately. I’d rather go about my business, living my own life, without having to worry about what they’re going to say about things. After all, it’s my turn to be young. I’m not planning on doing anything to get myself thrown in jail, but I have learned to live a little in the past three years or so.

9. Being judgmental. Not that I have made that many enemies over the years, but I think that if I had been less judgmental I would have been able to make some great friends that I otherwise missed out on. Maybe not, who knows. At least I would have taken some opportunities that I didn’t. And at the very least would have met some interesting people and had some great stories.

10. Not being able to fly. If I could have one superpower, this would be it. Or maybe to be invisible. I don’t know. Yeah, flying I guess. I love flying in planes and wish so badly that I could just do it on my own. What an exhilarating feeling!

One Response to “Ten Things Tuesday – July 28”

  1. MARI 28 July, 2009 at 4:11 pm #

    Wonderful post!

Leave a Reply

