TGIF

24 Jul

Today has been a long day. I got up very early this morning to babysit all day. Had to be there at ten til eight, to babysit for a two-year-old for eight hours. Don’t get me wrong, it was pretty fun, and I really can use the money! But it’s definitely challenging to keep a toddler entertained for that long, and to get yourself into a child’s mindset to have fun yourself. The little girl I was watching is so smart! Her parents are a speech pathologist and a teacher, so she’s already learning her letters and numbers. She’s really going to keep her teachers on their toes some day! I had a fun day with her, but she wasn’t too thrilled to take a nap. She got really upset when I tried to get her to sleep around 1:30, but finally she did it. I had some peace and quiet for myself for a while. Mostly it was a good babysitting day, nothing too challenging, but still fun and interesting.

For dinner tonight we had Mexican. Haven’t had that in forever, and it was so good! We went to El Matador, which has the best chiles rellenos in town. I always judge Mexican restaurants by their chiles, and these are the best I’ve found so far. They also had some excellent margaritas, which both my mom and I needed after our long days – mine babysitting, hers teaching her wild class of 5 and 6 year olds.

After dinner we went out to Kohl’s, where my grandmother had heard they were having a big sale. They really were – I got three new shirts and a new dress (purple!), as well as some new earrings. I’m getting to have quite the artistic, unique wardrobe. I don’t hate it…

Tomorrow we’re going to Boone! Should be a fun day. We’re going to see Kenny Loggins tomorrow night, so I’m excited! I’m pretty sure I’m going to pass out any minute, because I’m SO tired! I was up late last night because I could not sleep at all. I think it was around 4 before I finally dozed off, only to wake up about every hour after that. Not a good thing when you have to be up at 7! Needless to say, but I’m exhausted. Good night!

Leave a Reply

