Dr. Seuss

17 Jul

I wrote this a couple of years ago, in AP English, when we had to write letters to Dr. Seuss. I think there was some special thing going on at the time, not really sure.

Dear Dr. Seuss,

I like your books. They make me smile.
I read them, read them for a long long while.
I read them here, I read them there.
I love to read them anywhere.
I will read them in a box,
I will read them with a fox,
I will read them in a house,
I will read them with a mouse.
I read them here, I read them there.
I love to read them anywhere!
One fish two fish red fish blue fish
To read all your books is my biggest wish.
I’ll tell you how much I love you, and then,
Then, won’t you please, please, please, please be my friend?
I like your books. They make me smile.
I read them, read them for a long long while.
I read them here, I read them there.
I love to read them anywhere!
My favorite is The Sneetches and their bellies with stars.
I love even Sneetches with none upon thars.
And if I was Sylvester McMonkey McBean,
I’d teach them how wrong it is to be mean.
I like your books. They make me smile.
I read them, read them for a long long while.
I read them here, I read them there.
I love to read them anywhere!
I love Horton the elephant, in the Jungle of Nool
In the heat of the day, in the cool of the pool.
Yertle the turtle, the king of the pond
Of that great ruler I have grown very fond.
I like your books. They make me smile.
I read them, read them for a long long while.
I read them here, I read them there.
I love to read them anywhere!
If I was the Lorax, ‘d speak for the trees
To stop the Once-ler from making his thneeds.
Fish in a tree? How can that be?
It only works when they come in three!
I like your books. They make me smile.
I read them, read them for a long long while.
I read them here,  read them there.
I love to read them anywhere!
And just what would I do,
If I ran the zoo?
I’d go to the mountains of Zomba-ma-tant
And catch a fine fluffy bird to give to my aunt.
I like your books. They make me smile.
I read them, read them for a long long while.
I read them here, I read them there.
I love to read them anywhere!
Like the Whos down in Who-ville who like Christmas a lot,
I like Christmas, and know it cannot be bought.
I’m glad that the Grinch got to eat at the feast.
Ahe, he himself, got to carve the roast beast!
I like your books. They make me smile.
I read them, read them for a long long while.
I read them here, i read them there.
I love to read them anywhere!
I have hunches in bunches from Solla Sollew
On the banks of the beautiful River Wah-hoo.
I have slow feet, quick feet, well feet, sick feet,
And I have your books–they are always a treat!
I read them here, I read them there.
I love to read them anywhere!
I love you, love you, yes I do.
I like to read no one but you!

Your best friend forever,
Laura

Leave a Reply

