Ten Things Tuesday – July 14

14 Jul

Songs I am considering for the first dance at my wedding (not that it’s coming up anytime soon, but it’s good to be prepared):

1. Real Love – The Beatles

This has been the number-one choice for a long time. Obviously my favorite band. Obviously a beautiful, brilliant song. Real love. That’s all it takes. So simple and yet so hard to find.

2. Til Kingdom Come – Coldplay

This one is fast becoming my new favorite. I’ve loved it for a long time, but recently sat down and REALLY listened to it. Simply stunning. At the very least it would make excellent background music for a picture slideshow.

3. At Last – Etta James

A classic wedding song. I feel like whatever I dance to shouldn’t be really cliche, but this is SUCH a great song! Still one of my favorites.

4. The Luckiest – Ben Folds

Love this song. Can’t say anything to do it justice, and the title says it all.

5. Unchained Melody – Righteous Brothers

Again, perfect. Nothing more to say.

6. God Only Knows – The Beach Boys

Really, where would we be if we hadn’t met the people we ‘ve met? What would have happened if our lives had taken different paths? God only knows.

7. Falling Slowly – Swell Season/Once soundtrack

Such a simple yet beautiful song.  I think it’s really about any kind of love.

8. Everything – Lifehouse

You’re all I want, you’re all I need. Were clearer words ever spoken? I don’t think so. Beautiful!

9. Don’t Let Me Down – The Beatles

The version in Across the Universe is especially good. The rooftop concert, the final performance. This song, to me, is basically a wedding vow, a pledge of love. Explaining how much you love someone while asking them to always be with you.

10. If I Ever Leave This World Alive – Flogging Molly

Truly, til death do us part.

Leave a Reply

