Mope

12 Jul

So, as I predicted two days ago while ranting about my dad, I’m extremely bored. I’ve spent the last two days perusing Netflix, which is my new obsession. However, there are only so many movies you can watch in a day, so I’m trying not to be overzealous.

I meant to get up to go to church this morning, which I haven’t done for ages. Alas, that didn’t happen. I have the pesky habit of staying up way too late and turning off my alarm, causing me to sleep half the day. I’m slowly turning into either a nocturnal animal or my brother. Can’t decide which.

I’m seriously contemplating laying out on my roof, sunbathing and drinking. My mom would have a fit, I’m sure. At least about the drinking part. I’m definitely going to lay out one of these days, because a) I desperately need some sun and b) it’s badass. If they’re going to add on to the house to where I cannot see any of the backyard anymore, just an expanse of tan roof, you better believe I’m going to take advantage of that.

I need to find something to do with my life soon, or I might go crazy. My mom complains a lot about how our family just kind of keeps to themselves, doesn’t do a lot of stuff together. Well, that could be remedied if something were to actually happen around here. As it is, I’m having to find ways to entertain myself all day long, because she’s constantly working, even when she’s not at work. She teaches, and she’s one of those teachers who is completely consumed by her students. She teaches year-round and is getting ready to start up again, so she’s got her nose buried in teaching guides. James is hooked to his video games ALL DAY. My dad is working, and my grandmother is cooking something stinky in the kitchen. I don’t know why, but she has to spend the entire day making dinner. She starts on it about 1 or 2 in the afternoon, so by the time dinner is served everything is mushy or overcooked. Generally not very good. Bland, plain. Epitome 1950s housewife. Ugh.

So yeah, if you can’t tell, I’ve been back for one day less than a week and am already going crazy. I really want to go back to Governor’s School, be with friends and artsy people. Alas, I’m stuck here. I would really like to do some painting, but there’s nowhere I can go where I can be by myself and do this. I could do it in my room, but it’s messy and inconvenient. The kitchen is no good, because there I get bombarded with questions about what I’m doing, how I’m doing it, why I’m doing it, and other general nuisances, when really I just want to work in peace. I get in the zone where I just don’t really pay attention to anything around me, and I certainly don’t want to have conversations with my grandmother about what I’m working on.

I’m getting restless. One week at home, and I’m done. I have to find something to do!

Leave a Reply

