On the Road Again

3 Jul

I can’t believe Governor’s School is over already! It really feels like only yesterday I was moving in, by myself, up three flights of stairs with no elevator. Now, I’m moving everything out, by myself, down three flights of stairs with no elevator. It’s so sad. I didn’t get to say goodbye to most of the kids because I slept so late, and several of them were already gone. I had to finish packing myself, so the ones in other dorms were leaving, too. I did get to see a couple of my favorites on the way to the art building, though. I saw Ellie on her way back from picking up her work, and Andy tracked me down coming out of the building. It’s nice to know you will be missed. I’m going to miss them all like crazy, I don’t even want to think about it!

Tonight we’re heading up to Nashville to Akinya’s house, where I will be staying for a few days. We’re going to hang out, shop, and hit some bars while we’re there. There are a few other counselors that either live in the area or are staying there for a bit, so we’re definitely going to hang out with them.

Currently we’re on our way to eat one last counselor meal at Chili’s. Not everyone can come, but some of my favorite people will be there! After that it’s over to World Market to build some six-packs.

Like I’ve said multiple times over the last few days, I DON’T want to leave these people! Since I was here the last time, I’d forgotten how wonderful it is to be surrounded by people who love doing what I do just as much as I do. Being in this environment of creative personalities, while it does cause its share of conflicts, is nothing short of amazing. Really. Everyone getting together and collaborating. It’s almost indescribable. I’ll miss it.

I have to come back next year!

Leave a Reply

