Party in the Print Room

30 Jun

There are few things in life quite like getting together a group of artistic girls and going up to a printmaking room to make t-shirts. We had a big screenprinting party up there today and made tons of shirts.

I made several llama shirts that I’m pretty excited to get to wear. Akinya is working on a print of the green fairy from an absinthe bottle. It’s very art-deco and pretty awesome. She didn’t get completely finished, so I can’t wait to come back up and see how she finishes it. I really kinda want one for myself…

If Akinya and I end up back here at Governor’s School next summer, we’re definitely planning some t-shirt making. It’s so fun to make something creative that is actually useful – clothing, jewelry, whatever. It’s great when you wear that thing you made, and people compliment you on it, and then you get to say that you made it. Few things give you a better feeling.

I can’t believe this month is almost over – so much has happened and it’s been so incredible! I’d love to come back next summer – we’ll see how that goes. I don’t know what my life is going to be like after this, because I feel like I’ve been here forever, and at the same time, the time has just flown by. I really hope to keep in touch with the friends I’ve made here, both staff and students. It’s really been an awesome summer!

Leave a Reply

