CAI

8 Apr

I just finished reading Three Cups of Tea. I have to say, I’ve read a lot of books – a lot of powerful books – but this one really, truly inspired me to take action against the injustices of the world. The fact that one person could accomplish so much, starting with nothing, is really amazing. Such a simple idea: build schools in rural areas of Pakistan and Afghanistan, especially for girls, in order to educate the children of these countries and end the streak of poverty and terrorism that can breed from being uneducated. He’s giving them something more, something better to hope for than dying because you have nothing to live for. And I love the fact that he provides educational and vocational opportunities for women, in an area where female education isn’t usually welcomed. I think it’s amazing that he’s gotten so much help and support from the good people around him. His book really shows that, even though we get a very different message about the Middle East here in America, the vast majority of people there want the same thing as the people here: a better life for their family.

What’s even more amazing, too, is how Greg Mortenson was able to inspire the people around him behind his cause; without the support of his staff in Pakistan, there would be no Central Asia Institute today. I’ve never had a hero before, but I think he might be the first for me. The fact that he’s so interested in preserving their culture by providing the opportunity to learn, is really amazing. Many people go into a foreign land hoping to impose their own ideas on the people living there, with often disastrous results. But he respects Islam and the Pakistani cultures and wants so desperately for these children to have a better life.

I’ve been thinking about donating a portion of the proceeds from my art show (if I’m lucky enough to sell anything) to the American Art Therapy Association and/or another charity. I think I might just have found one. I have been so inspired to do something good the past few weeks while reading this book. It really got me thinking about my life, and how truly lucky I have been to have so many good things happen in my life. I’m glad that there are people out there like Greg Mortenson who really have the right perspective on how we should be helping and relating to other people, especially those less fortunate. I admire his courage and determination to go after a dream he cares very passionately about.

This is one of the few books I would recommend that absolutely EVERYONE read. It’s such a powerful book, and I think everyone would benefit from knowing Greg Mortenson’s incredible story of perseverance. Also, check out his website, listed on the left.

2 Responses to “CAI”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Topics about Books » CAI - 8 April, 2009

    […] KnowledgeThoughtsBlog placed an interesting blog post on CAIHere’s a brief overviewI have to say, I’ve read a lot of books – a lot of powerful books – but this one really, truly inspired me to take action against the… […]

  2. Topics about Culture » CAI - 8 April, 2009

    […] onenparle@rsr.ch placed an interesting blog post on CAIHere’s a brief overviewThe fact that he’s so interested in preserving their culture by providing the opportunity to learn, is really amazing. […]

Leave a Reply

