It is Written

6 Apr

I’ve watched Slumdog Millionaire twice in the past two days. I really like it. It’s not the best of the Best Picture films I’ve ever seen, but it’s really inspiring. I like rooting for the underdog, and that’s definitely what this movie is all about. It’s one of those that makes you think, too. I like it when a movie sticks with you for several days after you see it. I like to watch movies that are also fluffy, that are just pure good entertainment. But I also love good storytelling.

The movie has a really unique way of telling the entire story. The basic plot is that Jamal, a kid from the slums, is a contestant on the Indian version of Who Wants to be a Millionaire. He is answering all the questions right and is accused of cheating. The movie flashes back and forth between the show and its questions, his interrogation by the police, and the events from his life that explain how he knows the answers. And he’s not even doing it for the money; he’s on the show to find his long-lost love, because he knew she would be watching.

It’s really good. I would definitely recommend it. There are so many little things you pick up on the second time around, too. It’s pretty much just an all-around inspiring movie. The more I think about it, the more I like it. Realistic, maybe not entirely. But hey, we all love to dream, don’t we?

I’ve had songs from the soundtrack stuck in my head all day. I think I might need to look into getting that. And I am definitely putting the movie on my list of movies I want.

2 Responses to “It is Written”

  1. ggw_bach 6 April, 2009 at 10:56 pm #

    the film has made waves around the world. Probably because it has such an inspirational message: believe, follow your truth, and you will come out on top. Regardless of low a position you start in.

    plus the love. Everyone loves the love element 🙂

    great film all round. Our Titanic.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It is Written - 6 April, 2009

    […] Original post by lazyllama27 […]

Leave a Reply

