Road Rage

27 Mar

I drove home today for spring break through torrents of rain for at least half the trip. It’s the third straight day of rain for me, with no hope of it letting up here in Tennessee, either. The drive wasn’t that bad; there wasn’t much traffic since it was Friday after work. The worst part about it was the rain. It was a pretty drenching rain, nothing overwhelming (I’ve definitely driven in worse!)

Because of the rain and fog, visibility was obviously lowered. But did that stop people from driving without their lights on? No, it did not! It irritates me to no end when people do not put their lights on in the rain. Especially when they are driving fog-colored cars, then you really can’t see them! I’m pretty sure I’ve written about this phenomenon before, but I just have to say it again: please put your lights on! It’s so dangerous to drive without lights in the rain!

I tried to keep a mental count going of how many cars were driving through pouring rain with no lights, but lost count around 30 or so. Really. At least 30, on a two-hour drive through the rain. It just doesn’t make sense to me that they wouldn’t drive with their lights on, if only out of courtesy to other drivers. Even if you can see through the rain just fine without your lights, there’s a very good chance that someone in another car can’t see you. Especially when you like to dart in and out of traffic like you’ve just stolen something.

Please, people, put your lights on! It’s so incredibly unnerving to be driving in heavy rain around cars you can barely see. That’s all.

And I know it’s very dangerous, but I couldn’t resist taking a picture of the road while I was driving. It was so foggy coming up the mountain at the SC/NC line that I could barely see in front of me. Thank goodness there wasn’t a lot of traffic like there usually is on that road, and no big trucks! This picture is actually better than what I could really see. I couldn’t see that bridge with my eyes when I took this.

Don’t worry, I was very careful.

dsc00338

Leave a Reply

