Spring Fever

7 Mar

It is absolutely beautiful weather here today! In the high 70s and sunny. Such a complete turnaround from earlier in the week. It’s amazing how different the weather can be within a few days. Spring weather always makes me itchy to be outside in a cute sundress.

Anna and I just got back from some shopping. I know I shouldn’t have gone, but I just couldn’t help myself! Retail therapy truly is a real thing, because getting new stuff always makes me feel good. I really, honestly shouldn’t have gotten anything, but I just couldn’t resist. My parents aren’t going to be happy with me. But I guess I don’t do much else to be rebellious, so I can do this one thing, right?

I’m so in love with all the clothes that are coming out for spring. I love all the prints that look like watercolored flowers. Very pretty. I’m all about the bold prints and colors in my life.

Last night was Anna’s junior recital, and she did such a great job! She had a wonderful mix of songs that were all really beautiful. She has such a great voice, and is really entertaining. I think she was born to be on the stage. Hanging out with her today was fun. It’s been such a long time since I’ve gone shopping with someone else, or really just hung out with anyone off campus. I need to start getting out more. Even if it’s just sitting at Barnes and Noble to study for a few hours, it’s much better than being cooped up here all the time.

Tonight I’m ushering at the Chapman Center. They are doing Thoroughly Modern Millie, which I’m excited to see for the first time. One of the great perks of ushering is that I get to see all the shows for free! It’s not a terribly difficult job to do, and it counts for my Bonner hours.

I just got off the phone with my mom and my brother, who is on spring break right now. He got home last night and has just been laying around all day. It would be nice to be home right now. My spring break isn’t for a few weeks, over which I have a lot of work I should do. I don’t want to get into a lazy habit while I’m there, even though that always happens. I don’t think my mom will still be on her spring break while I’m home, which will mean I’ll be home with my grandmother all day. Maybe I could go to school with my mom and get a lot of volunteer hours in. No matter what I end up doing, I don’t want to sit around and watch TV all day. I could do that at night, when there’s nothing else to do and no one else awake.

While this semester isn’t nearly as stressful right now as the last, it’s not been that bad. It’s kind of boring, to tell you the truth. Everyone is very busy during the week and does homework over the weekends, so there’s nothing really exciting going on. And then there are always rehearsals for Fiddler, too. I am excited to see the show, but I’ll definitely be glad when it’s over and I can have my friends back! That’s the one downside of having music students for friends…they’re always in some rehearsal or other. I love them to death but I do wish they had more free time.

Speaking of free time, I think I’ve used all of mine up for today. I should go and work on some of my research, which I think my professor thinks I’ve done more of than I actually have. I want to make sure I don’t get behind on anything. Right now I’m fairly on track with all of my work, and I want to get as much done as early as possible so I can have more free time with my friends. It’s our last few months together, and I want to make it great!

Leave a Reply

