Snow Day

4 Mar

I promise this is going to be the last of the snow posts. It’s kind of a big deal around here. So much of it has melted in the past day, so most people are kind of over it. It was great while it lasted. But I promise, last snow post. This was another of those power-less musings I decided to repost, ironically just before the electricity came on again.

Well, it’s 2:45 and still no power. I’m so bored. I just don’t know what to do with myself. I should be reading my books and articles for my paper, or working on the paintings I started this weekend. But, with no music, I just can’t bring myself to do these things. That deadened silence is just too overwhelming – it’s like I can’t concentrate without any background noise. And painting with music is just so much better than by yourself.

Maybe I should just round up some people to play board games. It’s still so quiet around here because everyone is gone, Mari included. She’s not planning to be back until tomorrow, either, at the earliest.

We went to Wal-Mart to buy some snow-day, no electricity provisions, but they were closed! Can you imagine, Wal-Mart closed in 2009 because of a lack of power? there were about 20 cars in the parking lot and about 20,000 carts, all grouped in little islands and clusters everywhere. Anna took a really funny video on my camera about the south shutting down when it snows (see below). It’s true – people really do go crazy around here when it snows. We don’t know how to handle it.

Miracle of miracles! The power just came back on! I hope this is permanent!

Leave a Reply

