Ten Things Tuesday – February 24

24 Feb

Happy Mardi Gras! Hope everyone is enjoying a day of revelry before 40 days of piousness or whatever you do during Lent. As for myself, I usually forget to give up anything until a few days into it. So today, I thought I would make a list of ten things I should give up for Lent but probably won’t. Maybe I’ll be celebrating my favorite holiday today by partaking in at least one of these things. Maybe not (after all, it’s a school night).

Ten things I should give up for Lent/things that make Mardi Gras fun!

1. Money. I love money, just as much as the next person. I’m not always good at saving it. Actually, I’m pretty bad at saving it. I love stuff, and to get stuff you need money. This causes a problem, you see. I have to get better control of myself financially.

2. Laziness. I think the best way to give this up would be to exercise more, rather than sit around and think of TTT posts and other random foolishness. And to just generally not waste time. Which leads me to…

3. Procrastination. If I’m going to accomplish anything this semester, I’m going to have to quit putting things off so much. It’s getting serious.

4. Clutter. I can be pretty messy. Not dirty. Messy. If I took a little more time every day to pick things up and maybe do a little cleaning, my room wouldn’t look like such a disaster area.

5. Dessert. Converse makes incredible chocolate chip cookies, and ice cream is one of my favorite foods ever. I eat too much of these, and should really stop. It’s just so good, though! I want some Ben and Jerry’s just thinking about it.

6. Booze. By no means am I an alcoholic, but I do enjoy the occasional drink. I have a weakness for Long Island Iced Tea.

7. Facebook. Man, oh man. I spend so much time there. Actually, it’s kind of losing its appeal now, because it’s kind of boring. I haven’t looked at Flair lately and none of my friends that I’m really interested in keeping up with have done anything interesting lately. Mostly just some random stuff about people I kind of know, doing things that sort of matter.

8. Downloading fonts. It’s a serious addiction.

9. Pessimism. In the last three years or so, I’ve turned from an optimist to a quite cynical pessimist. I don’t know why, but I don’t really like it. This is the one thing on the list I would actually like to change. I think it would be better for everyone.

10. Materialism. I often feel that I have too much stuff in my life. I’m a big pack rat, and enjoy collecting stuff. I have tons of books, tons of movies, lots of music on my computer, hundreds of dollars worth of art supplies, balls of yarn everywhere, and more shoes than I can wear in a month. I guess I’m just a collector. I’m getting a head start on my dusty old attic filled with random objects. Maybe these things will come in handy later for an illustrious art career.

Anyway, there’s my list. There’s no way this will be adhered to, but it was fun to write anyway. What are you giving up for Lent?

Leave a Reply

