Ten Things Tuesday – February 3

3 Feb

In honor of the 50th anniversary of The Day the Music Died, I bring you ten recent music discoveries. These are all bands that I knew about before now, but have just now gotten into. I know I deserve a slap on the wrist for some of them, for just now really “discovering” them. Taste changes with age, and I’m glad to say that mine is only getting better. Some of them might be a little late, but they were definitely worth waiting for. These are the reasons I was born about 40 years too late.

The first part of the list is all classic hard rock bands that I’m really loving at the moment, and the last part is some newer stuff I’ve been into lately. Most of the first list have stopped making music, but the stuff they left us with is legendary. If they’re ever forgotten, the music truly will die.

1. Led Zeppelin. OK, I knew about them way before this list. I knew they were great before this list. I’ve always had an appreciation for them, but I’m just now really delving into their incredible music. Definitely wish I had found them earlier, and converted. By far my new favorite. 

2. Pink Floyd. Kind of makes me wish I was a big stoner. I totally get why all the guys in high school loved them. If I ever decide to take drugs (which is a big NO), I will definitely play their music. It’s pretty great without it, though.

3. Jefferson Airplane. Grace Slick is amazing. We watched some stuff on them last spring when I took Music and Social Change of the 1960s. White Rabbit is by far the best.

4. Heart. Two women rocking out before it was cool for girls to be into hard rock? Yes, ma’am!

5. The Rolling Stones. The can’t ever be The Beatles, and I’ll never be a huge Stones fan, but I’m learning to appreciate them.

6. Big Brother and the Holding Company. Janis Joplin has one of the most raw, sexual voices ever. There’s just something so captivating about her. I’ve seen footage of the Monterey Pop Festival, and I’m pretty sure I would have been hooked had I ever seen her in person.

7. The Byrds. Probably my favorites of the folk rock or psychedelic roch scene.

8. Iggy Pop and the Stooges. Probably way more intense than any of my friends or family would give me credit for liking. But man, there’s just something about that dirty hard rock sound.

9. Black Sabbath. Again, I don’t think anyone would pick me for a Sabbath girl. And truthfully, I don’t know a wide range of their music, and I would be completely out of place at a show. But still, I just can’t get past that insane rock sound.

10. AC/DC. Love. Them. I can’t even express it in words. Almost as great as my love for The Beatles. Almost.

 

And the new stuff, a little more specific:

1. Praan – Garry Schyman. This is used in one of the Where the Hell is Matt? videos. The lyrics are adapted from the poem “Stream of Life” from Gitanjali by Rabindranath Tagore. It’s very inspiring, especially when you watch it with Matt’s video. I think it makes for some pretty great background music to any sort of presentation. I wish I’d had it back when I was giving the presentation for my art therapy paper.

2. Squeeze Me – Kraak and Smaak. This was in a Rhapsody commercial. I only heard about 10 seconds of it but really loved it.

3. Sweet Lullaby – Deep Forest. Also from the Matt videos. I downloaded a slightly different version. iTunes has a whole album of remixes of this song. The lyrics are from a dying Solomon Islands language  recorded in 1971

4. Say Hey (I Love You) – Michael Franti and Spearhead. Such a great message in this song. I think it kind of sums up my feelings about world travel. It would be my theme song for being a vagrant bohemian.

5. Out of My League – Stephen Speaks. This song always reminds me of Melody, because it sounds a lot like her and because she introduced it to me. It’s just a normal song about undeserved love, and it’s beautiful.

6. Colors – Kira Willey. I think this actually came from a yoga CD for kids, but it’s so cute and mellow!

7. Flogging Molly. I’ve had them in my iTunes lineup for a while, but have sort of rediscovered them. They remind me of the ska band that some of my fellow band geeks formed in high school. I think I went to two shows, maybe, and it was pretty fun. Molly isn’t quite ska, but they’re a bunch of drunk Irishmen, and I’ll take that any day.

8. Rock ‘n Roll All Nite – Kiss. I really do wanna rock and roll all night and party every day. If only there wasn’t that pesky thing called Responsibility…..

9. Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It) – Beyonce. The video for this song is unbelievable. I can’t even comprehend how people can dance like that. This is a really fun song to play when we’re all getting dressed up to go out.

10. 4 Minutes – Madonna and Justin Timberake. I’m not a big Madonna fan, but I can’t get enough of this song. I love dancing to this in the car. It makes me drive a little too fast.

Leave a Reply

