Nothing Gets Your Room Cleaner Than a Paper Due Tomorrow

25 Jan

So I don’t exactly have a paper due tomorrow, but I’m highly unmotivated to do anything school-related. I have 5 chapters to read by Wednesday for Counseling, but I’d rather clean my room instead. There’s just something about studying in a clean room that makes me feel more productive. And when I clean, I can still feel a sense of accomplishment, even though I’m technically not doing anything of urgency.

Mari has the same problem. We’ve both been sitting around today (and yesterday), doing anything remotely not resembling homework. Our room is getting cleaner by the minute. We’ve both washed our sheets, washed the dishes, and generally tidied up. There’s been a lot of movie watching, too. I also finished Jon Stewart’s America book yesterday, when I should have been reading an actual textbook.

It’s just so much easier to clean the room than read. Reading for school is boring. It requires a lot of concentration on 25-30 pages of information you’re inevitably going to forget on the test. I don’t have class tomorrow, which is also a big motivation to not do anything. I do, however, have to go to SADAC and run some errands that I’ve been putting off. I don’t feel overwhelmed by Jan term school work, but I’m tired of this reading thing. I did enough of it last semester. I know there’s only more to come in the spring, but I’m not looking forward to it! I wish there was a way to study and learn things without having to keep your eyes open all the time. If anyone figures this out, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

