Curious, Isn’t It?

18 Jan

Last night we went to go see The Curious Case of Benjamin Button as part of movie genre January. Melody had seen it over Christmas and wanted to show it for her Romance category. It was so wonderful. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen a movie that is truly that beautiful. Both the story and the cinematography were just so breathtaking. Cate Blanchett was born to be on film. Most definitely she was born to be in period pieces, because she doesn’t look out of place in any of the decades shown in the movie. In fact, I think she truly belongs in the 30s and 40s, but I’m glad we have her now. I’ve never been the biggest Brad Pitt fan, but I loved him in this movie. He’s definitely on my list now.

I haven’t cried that hard in a movie in a long time, either. The ending scenes were just perfect; I haven’t ever been moved by an ending like that before. It was so beautiful. There’s something about montages that always moves me to tears. It really reminded me to not take anything for granted; that I have an influence on others I come across, and I should always remember how that might one day affect them.

I borrowed the short story from Rebecca to read soon. I can’t wait to see how the original short story was adapted. Having never read the short story before, I don’t know how they compare, but I have a feeling that the movie really did the story justice.

Leave a Reply

