Sudden Inspiration

8 Jan

Katy and I met the other day to talk about our ideas for the art show we’re doing together in the spring. She said she had some great inspirations over winter break, so we got together to share our ideas. I think it’s really going to be incredible. Her work is going to be very organic and fluid and three-dimensional, mostly having to do with nature and environments. Mine is going to be solid and flat and having to do with urban environments. It’s going to be such a great contrast, I can’t wait to see how it will turn out.

I’ve been very inspired this week to start making my paintings for the show. I’ve had the ideas sketched out for a very long time (I think since freshman year, actually.), but haven’t taken the time to get them started before now. And now that it’s crunch time, and I actually need a cohesive body of work for an art show, it’s about time I found the motivation to get working on them. Hopefully this new inspiration will keep going through spring. Getting a head start in January is really smart, but I can’t slack off on it anymore. Hopefully this will give me plenty of time to get all the work done that I want to. My goal is to have at least 5 paintings finished by the end of the month. I can’t get overly excited though, because then I will be very ambitious and jump from one painting to the next before finishing. I have a hard time concentrating on just one at a time when I have lots of ideas for several paintings.

So far, January has been quiet. My schedule is kind of opposite of my friends, so I’m in class when they’re out or eating lunch, and I have free time when they’re in class. I’m taking Counseling and Psychotherapy this month, which sounds a lot more intense than it really is. Basically we spend about half the class in lecture and then we practice being clients and therapists. We’ve been practicing asking open-ended questions and developing listening skills the past few days. It’s really challenging to intently listen to what a person is saying while trying to think of good questions to get further information, without those questions being closed. I like it so far, but it’s definitely going to be a different experience.

The good thing about class is that it’s over at 12:30 in the afternoon, so I have the whole rest of the day to do what I want. I can leisurely read my chapters and study for our tests, or sit around and paint and watch Friends.

Everyone is beginning to leave on their trips, so it’s getting quieter and quieter around here. There’s another trip leaving on Saturday, to India, so that will be even more people gone. There are quite a few trips this January; it seems like an unusually large number of people gone. Besides India, there is a group in Ireland, one going to Greece and Italy, Japan, and one taking a train tour through Eastern Europe. That might be it, but then again there are so many people gone that there very well could be more.

There is a girl who moved in across the hall from us that spent last semester in Barcelona. I really want to talk to her about her trip, because it’s my favorite place ever. I’d love to get the chance to study there one day. Really, I’m just ready to go on another trip. It’s only been a year since I’ve been out of the country, but I’m already itching to see more. There’s so much out there that I would love to see, and I definitely won’t pass up any other chances I get!

Leave a Reply

