Bit of an Update

31 Dec

The past few days have been very eventful. Here’s a rundown of my life since Sunday:

Slept in late and skipped church because I had an awful time trying to go to sleep on Saturday night. There were people yelling at the apartment complex behind our neighborhood, enough that I seriously considered calling the cops because I didn’t want anyone to get hurt. The big fight lasted a good 5 or 10 minutes, and then it took me forever to get back to sleep.

On Sunday, my mom and I watched about three discs of Friends and put together an entire 1000 piece puzzle. It took about 6 hours, but we didn’t even really notice how much time had gone by. We were quite proud of ourselves.

On Monday, we got up and went to the urgent care doctor to have my new-found mole looked at. We waited there for a good 2 hours, only to be seen for about 10 minutes and then referred to a dermatologist. We ran some errands that afternoon, then I came home and took a nap. Later that night Mom and I went to see Marley and Me. I laughed and cried a lot. I mean, a whole lot. It was really good; I’ve never read the book, but the movie was so funny and heartbreakingly sad at the same time. It reminded me of my dog, Feathers (who was much, much less destructive but still just as loved).

On Tuesday, my mom and I got up and went to the Grove Park Inn in Asheville to see the gingerbread houses. They were so beautiful! We went several years ago, so we though we’d go again. Here are a few of my favorites:

After Grove Park, we had lunch at Mellow Mushroom. We both had some yummy pizza. If you’ve never been to M.M. in Asheville, I highly recommend it. The atmosphere will not disappoint. We then went to Tops for Shoes, where, alas, I found nothing. Then a trip to Fresh Market and we were done.

Today, my mom and James and I went to the outlets in Pigeon Forge to finish shopping for stuff my parents couldn’t find up here for James’ Christmas (read: they didn’t want to be responsible for picking out his Polo shirts). I got a couple of pretty cute things. There were some major sales, so tons of people were out!

But before that trip, I got some good news at the dermatologist. I officially don’t have skin cancer! Apparently, you keep developing moles and birthmarks until you are about 40. The one on my head had been there maybe 5 years already, they said. And I will keep getting more every year, getting darker with time. So, I’m happy to say that now I have a cool new birthmark to show people, and I don’t have a major medical concern!

In a few minutes I’m going to celebrate the new year at Amanda’s house. I haven’t seen her new condo since they moved, so I’m excited to check out a new place! Hope everyone is having a great night, and being safe. Happy 2009!

Leave a Reply

