Baby, It’s Cold Outside!

22 Dec

More like freezing, actually. It’s 12:44 in the morning, and it’s 15 degrees. In Tennessee. I know it’s December, and I know it’s the first day of winter and the shortest day of the year. But this is straight up Yankee weather! I’m pretty tough, but not tough enough for this. I can see why all the smart animals hibernate. It’s been raining for like 5 days straight and now it’s sooooo cold. I haven’t been this cold in a really long time. It doesn’t get this low in South Carolina. At least, not at the time of year that I live there.

It’s one of those nights where you curl up in bed under a huge pile of blankets while you listen to the wind shaking your windows, so hard you think the house might just come down. I had some hot chocolate earlier, but I think I might need more.

I think I’m also coming down with a cold. This probably has something to do with the fact that I don’t like to wear socks. I adore ballet flats, which don’t usually look good with socks. Although lately I have been wearing them much more than normal.

I also went to see Twilight tonight, finally. Maybe the influence of vampires has made me really cold.

All I can say is, if it’s going to get this cold, we might as well have a white Christmas. There’s no sense in it being this cold and not having any snow to show for it.

Leave a Reply

