For Your Consideration

18 Dec

I think one of the things that sets me apart (and sometimes causes problems with other people) is that I am quite a considerate person. I’ve always been empathetic to others, and I’m the type of person who will get a gift for someone, just because I know they will really enjoy it and appreciate it. I’m not bragging, just stating facts: I care about other people.

The problem that this causes is that, when you’re the one doing things for other people, often no one is doing them for you in return. I don’t mind doing things to make others happy; in fact it’s one of the things I enjoy most. I don’t have to be showered with gifts, and I don’t have to get recognition for everything I do. But every once in a while it would be nice to know I’m appreciated. That I’m not just some do-gooder friend that always knows just what to get her friends or just what to say when someone is bummed. Being recognized and feeling appreciated (and having the consideration returned) are not the biggest things in the world. There are things that are way more important.

But every once in a while, it’s nice. Everyone likes to know that people really care about them and appreciate the things they do.

Leave a Reply

