I’ll be Home for Christmas

10 Dec

I am officially finished with this semester. I came home today after a week and a half of the most stressful, intense school work I’ve ever had to do. I can’t even begin to describe how good it feels to have everything finished. It’s a weird feeling, too, because I’m so used to constantly doing work that I don’t really know what to do with myself anymore. The prospect of two weeks at home with nothing (well, almost nothing) to do is at the same time relaxing and challenging. I’m going to catch up on lots of sleep, but also be kind of bored, too.

I’m hoping that this break will put me in a better mood. This is the longest I’ve been away from school in an entire year, and I definitely need it right now. I’m really burned out, so I need this time to just clear my head and get back on track. Hopefully it will be good for all my friends, too. It’s the time of year when you start to annoy each other some, and you need some time apart. This whole semester has felt like time apart from them in a way, except that they were still there. Now that we’re all home, hopefully it will be good for everyone to have a break. And I hope that whatever has been going on with everyone will stop after Christmas. I’m tired of the way things have been going. I don’t think they could get any worse, so here’s to hoping they will get better.

As far as holiday plans, I don’t have any so far. I would like to get a head start on research for my art history paper in the spring and get some pieces done for my senior show. Whether this actually gets accomplished, I have no idea. I’m supposed to be going to school with my mom a few days to get some volunteer hours in.

At least that will give me something to do until my brother gets here on Friday night. His latest plan is that he’s going to spend his summer in Syria with his friend. I don’t know how my parents are going to react to that, but I’m pretty sure he won’t be going. He’s turning out to be even more of an adventurous traveler than I am.

I’m thinking of getting my hair cut over the break. I really love having it long, but I feel ready for a change. I want everything else in my life to change right now, so I thought that cutting my hair would be a good way to do that. I’ll miss having it long, but I really want to cut it short and not tell anyone. Something drastic, but not too over-the-top. I just really want to look different, to match how different I feel on the inside.

I’m predicting that, at minimum, three people I know on Facebook will get engaged this Christmas. If it’s more, I might just die. I can’t handle this friends getting married thing. It’s weird, and it makes me feel lonely.

For now, I just want to curl up downstairs and watch Dirty Jobs and sleep away all of my stress and exhaustion. Good night!

Leave a Reply

