Black Friday

28 Nov

Today is Black Friday, the day when Americans go out in full force and show how much we are addicted to buying things we don’t need, with money we don’t have, to impress people we don’t like. My own personal Black Friday has been spent on my bed, isolated from my family, trying desperately to catch up on all the work that is due this week. It’s all due by Wednesday, pretty much. Which means I won’t have a lot to do the later part of the week, but all right now. I wish professors wouldn’t have any work the last bit of class. I know that’s impossible, but it’s so difficult to get everything done around the holidays. There are a lot of family and work responsibilities and obligations, not to mention the fact that it’s pretty hard to spend time with the people you love when you have to sit by yourself and do piles of work.

That’s the story of my life: sitting alone, isolated, working. Always working. I don’t think my parents fully understand this. I mean, really. I only sit at my computer all day. Not because I’m avoiding people or that I hate going outside. But my workload is such that I can barely get everything done. I’m past the point of taking breaks for a few hours to hang out with friends or go to a movie or something. It’s down to taking, maybe, a 20 minute break to write here, or look at Facebook, or take a quick nap. Or maybe, if I’m lucky, watch one episode of Friends or The Office. I can’t wait for this semester to be over. I know I will have just as much, if not more, work to do in the spring, but at least I will have a break for Christmas. I won’t have so much to do, other than try to get a head start on my art history paper or my senior show (both of which will take the whole semester, so it will be a good idea to get these done as early as possible). Hopefully, I won’t go crazy in the next few weeks. I have until December 11 to get everything done. Think I can do it? I don’t know. I really don’t.

Leave a Reply

