The Beginning of the End

3 Nov

I am happy to report that I now have two lovely partners for my senior show in the spring. Sydney and Katy and I decided in class tonight to all do a show together. I couldn’t be more excited about this! I really like both of them, and I know we will have an awesome show working together. Exactly one week from tonight, I will know the date of the show. It’s scary to think that it will be set in stone after next week. It’s starting to all become official that I’m graduating.

I can’t wait to actually start setting up our show, and making invitation cards, and making the work. It’s going to be lot of preparation, but I know it will be worth it in the end. I have most of my work already planned out. Now there’s just the actual execution of it. It’s hard finding time to do normal school work and find time to work in the studio. I don’t think I’m going to have much of a social life for the rest of the year.

Today I registered for spring classes for the last time ever. It’s weird to think that I won’t have to go through advising and registration in the spring, because I will have two degrees and will be done. That is, if nothing comes up at the last minute that keeps me here longer than I thought. I can’t believe four years almost have already passed. Every year we vow to do more of this, do more of that. But we don’t because we get too busy doing school-related things. And now I feel like I’m running out of time. I haven’t really been able to get into a routine this semester, and now it’s almost over. I hope the next one will be better. I’ve got to make it count, because it’s the last one ever!

Today I met with my Bonner supervisor to talk about my internship, and we ended up talking about grad school and after graduation plans. As of now, I have no idea really what to do. I definitely want to go to grad school, and I even know where I want to go. It’s just the finding of time to take the GRE, do applications and slides and personal statements, and find the money to go for interviews. I’m barely getting my normal school work done now, so I can’t imagine fitting that in, too. I think what I would really love to do is this: take a year off and really prepare myself for grad school. Save some money so that I can apply and start to support myself a little bit. In the meantime, I have no idea what to do. I would like to be a camp counselor this summer, because I’ve always wanted to do that. Then in the fall, I would either like to move to Boston for a year to intern for Project Have Hope or become an AmeriCorps Vista and potentially keep working at SADAC. I don’t know. I feel like I have so many options and at the same time no options. It’s very difficult deciding your future. Sometimes I wish I could have someone else do it for me.

Anyway, because it is much easier to write so much here, I must force myself to leave and write my paper, which needs some serious help. Hopefully my current inspiration will spill over into my actual homework, although looking at my track record doesn’t make me hopeful. I hope that those of you voting tomorrow are confident in your decisions, no matter your beliefs. Please be safe out there, because it could get crazy!

Leave a Reply

