Birthday Present to Myself

26 Oct

Last weekend when my parents came down for the LSU game, my mom gave me some money for my birthday. It’s been burning a hole in my pocket ever since. I haven’t bought anything for myself in a while. I haven’t gone out to eat, really. At least not at school. It’s been nothing but work, work, work.

I thought a long time about what I wanted to use my birthday money on. There’s certainly responsible stuff, such as paying to take the GRE or for grad school applications. But I wanted to get something for myself, something that I wanted. That’s what birthdays are for, right? I have an ongoing list of things that I would like to get eventually, such as movies and perfumes and music and pretty peacoats. I thought also about getting some great yarn I found on ebay or going to the yarn shop in Greenville. I also thought about going to 10,000 Villages over there and getting some fair-trade jewelry. I thought about these things too much, and couldn’t make up my mind.

So last night, I finally decided what to get myself. I bought collections 2 and 3 of Dirty Jobs. So basically, I bought Mike Rowe for my birthday. I also entered some contest to go to the set one day and meet him. I’m pretty sure I would be a puddle if that happened. That would be pretty amazing, but I don’t have any high hopes of winning. I don’t usually win things like that. But hey, at least I can enjoy him whenever I want with my DVDs!

Leave a Reply

