Thankfulness

17 Oct

Going to my internship has made me really stop to think about the opportunities in my life that other people don’t have. I think I take these things for granted most of the time. I really do appreciate them, and now I’m starting to really, honestly be thankful for them. I haven’t had a difficult childhood. My parents aren’t wealthy, but my needs have been provided for. I didn’t get everything I wanted when I was young, but that has helped me to grow up not needing every little thing and helped me to be less selfish. I have had great opportunities for education and extracurricular activities, but I’ve still had to work hard for the things I’ve accomplished and received. I’m very lucky to have grown up this way, and I don’t want to take it for granted.

I see women at my internship who haven’t had the same chances I have. Addiction can happen to anyone, no matter things like race, religion, or income. Drugs and alcohol affect all types. But I’m really starting to see how lucky I’ve been. I haven’t had to struggle with the same kinds of problems, haven’t grown up in poverty, haven’t had to worry about court dates or getting my children back. I’ve been pretty blessed, and now I think it’s my turn to give back to those who didn’t have the same opportunities I had. I know I’m headed in the right career path; I know I’m doing what I’m supposed to. I am supposed to be helping others that weren’t as lucky as I was. I am supposed to be giving them an opportunity that otherwise wouldn’t be available to them.

I think that’s kind of the point of art therapy. And maybe, just maybe, it’s the point of us being here on earth. Those on the lucky end are supposed to serve those on the unlucky end, because they have the resources and the knowledge to help. I think it’s all about giving of yourself and your gifts. You’ve been given these things – both material and immaterial – because you’re supposed to share them with the people who don’t have them. I’ve been given talents in many different areas, and now I’m supposed to go out and share them with those who don’t have them.

I’ve been lucky. My life has been easy so far. I don’t have a lot of what you would call “life experience.” But I can learn from those that do, and give them back the things that were graciously given to me. I think this is the purpose of my life.

I have been thinking about this for the past couple of days. I really have had it easy. And I don’t want to be someone who doesn’t appreciate this. I do appreciate everything I have had the opportunity to do. I do complain about school a lot, but at the same time am so thankful that I have the chance to get an education. There are a heck of a lot of people out there who don’t get that chance. I’m glad that I do, and now I know that I’m supposed to share it with others. I am supposed to take this knowledge and give it to other people. Just because they have different life experience doesn’t make me better than them, or them better than me. It just means we’re different.

And I’m really looking forward to sharing our differences so that we can learn from each other.

Leave a Reply

