The House that Ruth Built

21 Sep

I can’t believe Yankee stadium is closing. Tonight is the last game to be played in the old, iconic stadium before the Bronx Bombers move to their new home next season. It’s kind of a shame that this historic place is closing. This is why America has no nostalgic value.

You go around the world, you see structures that are hundreds, sometimes thousands of years old. These special buildings have stood the test of time and give their home countries a huge historic value and sense of national pride.

But here, we tear everything down if it’s more than 50 years old. We have to bring down the old, and up with the new, for the sake of “progress.” I say, screw progress. Sometimes you need to keep the old stuff around, if only for nostalgic value. There’s so much history in Yankee Stadium; so many of the greats have played there. To just tear it down is truly a national tragedy.

I don’t understand this national sense of always having the newest, the biggest, and the best. Don’t we have any sense of pride in what we already do have? I don’t know all the details of the decision to build a new stadium, but I think it’s just awful that, as a nation, we seem obsessed with tearing down everything old, just to put up something new.

People say it’s falling down. But you know, rather than just level it and build something new, I think they should have tried to salvage some parts of it. It’s such a shame they’re completely tearing it down. I don’t think that does justice to the memory of all the great Yankees that have played there for 85 years. There’s such a sense of pride associated with this team, with this town. New York just has a certain flair that can’t be replicated anywhere else. And I know there are tons of people out there who hate the Yankees. But I’m sure that, to some of them, it feels like a huge loss for baseball to see the end of such a historic landmark.

It’s just so sad. I’m not a huge Yankees fan, but I am a big fan of tradition, history, and nostalgia. The legendary House that Ruth Built is coming down. It seems like the undoing of baseball, or a sign of the apocalypse. America has to start leaving up old buildings and quit building new stuff just because it’s “bigger and better.” Well, it’s not always. I’ve never sat in the stands at Yankee stadium. Now, I never will. It’s a sad day for baseball all around to lose such an important place.

Had I ever had the chance to go to Yankee Stadium, I would have taken it. And I would probably teared up a little, to know that I was sitting in the same place where Babe Ruth, Mickey Mantle, Joe DiMaggio, Lou Gehrig, Yogi Berra, and so many other greats called home.

Rest in peace, Yankee Stadium.

Leave a Reply

