An Awfully Big Adventure

14 Sep

I don’t know if I’ve ever fully expressed my love for Peter Pan. Like Immortal Beloved, my body is not big enough to contain all the emotion I feel towards it. It’s probably one of the most significant stories of my life.

I grew up watching the Disney animated version as a kid. A few years ago, there was a new one that came out with real people (which, in my opinion, is the best telling of the story). A few years ago, I read the actual book. Tonight, I ushered a performance of it at the Chapman Center. I’m pretty much overflowing with emotion for it right now. The performance tonight was a musical version, which I’d never seen before. They were flying and everything! The sets and costumes were so good. And while it wasn’t the best live performance I’ve seen of anything, it just reaffirmed my faith in Peter Pan.

Very often, I identify with Peter. While I do enjoy being an adult, I do sometimes wish that I could go back to being a kid again. There’s something so appealing about always being a child. You can wear ridiculous clothes, play make-believe all day, and still have faith in the world. Ignorance really is bliss in the eyes of a child. There’s a magic in being young that fades as you grow up. I’m being really nostalgic for my childhood. I miss it. I want to go back to the days of playing in school and playing at home. I don’t want to write papers anymore, look for a job, or pay taxes. I want always to be young, and to have fun, just like Peter.

Peter got to have adventures all the time. He lived on an island overrun with pirates, indians, mermaids, and fairies. It was all four seasons at once in Neverland, and no one ever grew older. Peter spent every day having a new adventure, because they were all so jam-packed onto his homeland. What could possibly be more appealing to a child than to play all day?

True, I would miss my mother, just like the Lost Boys. But I would totally have jumped into their world. Even now, knowing full well that it doesn’t exist, I can’t help but be jealous of them. Some part of me wishes, deep down, that Neverland really is real, and that children who fall out of their prams really do go there. It’s such a comforting thought to think that Peter is really out there, having fun all the time and never growing up.

If you haven’t read the book of Peter Pan, I highly recommend it. It’s really wonderful. The new movie version is by far the best adaptation of JM Barrie’s classic story. You should most definitely watch it. There’s a magic in that one that no one else has been able to capture. It’s probably going to be the standard for a long time.

I wish that words had been invented to express my love for the story of Peter Pan. I can’t think of any. It is so near and dear to my heart. My children will definitely grow to know and love Peter, too. They will know fairies.

I do believe in fairies. I do, I do.

One Response to “An Awfully Big Adventure”

  1. The Never Fairy 15 September, 2008 at 4:02 pm #

    Hooray for Peter Pan!
    So good to see someone love him so much! 🙂

    Did you know there’s a new Peter Pan book out?
    But it’s different from the rest.
    It’s made for people like you who respect the original story.
    All the others contradict it and such….

    Do check it out and have a read! 🙂
    http://www.peterpansneverworld.com/

    BELIEVE!

Leave a Reply

