Two Current Pet Peeves

18 Aug

As the title of this post suggests, there are two things that are currently quite irritating to me.

Number One. The Jonas Brothers. I saw their picture on Rolling Stone about two weeks ago, and they looked like they had been pumped up with testosterone, in the words of my lovely roommate Mari. Which is kind of ironic, considering that they’re pretty effeminate. Most of the time when I see them, they look like they’re wearing more makeup than I am. Kind of cross between emo and being made of clay. When Mari was still down here for FADC, we went to Barnes and Noble one night and looked at all the ridiculous tween magazines like Tiger Beat. We didn’t know who anyone in those things were, other than Miley Cyrus and Zac Efron. I swear, every single one of those magazines had the Jones Brothers on them. It’s probably a good thing that I didn’t know who any of those people were, because it could be borderline pedophilia at this point. I feel bad for my future children; what sort of outrageous celebrities are they going to have to put up with?

Anyway, I’m especially irritated that someone let the Jonas Brothers cover Hello Goodbye for a Target commercial. Usually I really like Target ads quite a bit, but this one draws the line. I cannot listen to those little wannabes cover that song. They probably have plenty of respect for The Beatles, but come on. What nerve.

Speaking of that, I’d like to add a third, alternate pet peeve: that JCPenney commercial that parodies The Breakfast Club. We won’t even discuss how much instant rage that gives me.

Number Two. Political Ads. I think it’s great we have democracy in America. But I hate election years, because that’s all you ever hear about on the news, and you have to watch those stupid political ads during commercials on TV. I especially hate the ones that attack the opposing candidate but don’t say anything about the person they’re advertising. I would much rather hear about all the positive things they have planned for the country, rather than highlighting all the awful qualities of their opponent. I’m just not that into negativity.

For that matter, I’m kind of over our electoral college system of voting. I think it’s kind of outdated, and the country has gotten too big for it to be effective anymore. My friend Eric that I knew in high school once told me about a different system of voting that made a lot more sense. It was a system where you ranked the candidates in order of your preference for them. Searching around on Wikipedia has told me this is a form of preferential voting. Here’s a sample of it. Pretty interesting:

 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Preferential_voting

There was a really great example he gave using the Muppets, but I can’t find it. Anyway, in the meantime, enjoy.

Leave a Reply

