Moving Out and the End of Summer

14 Aug

So I’m leaving my apartment tomorrow and moving back on campus. I can’t believe it’s already the end. It’s gone by way too fast. It seems like just yesterday I was moving into the apartment and getting used to living with different roommates. Now it’s the end, and we don’t live together anymore.

I’m ready to be back on campus with everyone around all the time, but I’m not actually looking forward to the moving process. I’m very good at packing, but I just don’t want to do it. It’s one thing to move between Tennessee and South Carolina twice a year. It’s another to move across town. I just wish I coud snap my fingers and have it all done.

Mallory and Natalie have already moved out. Our apartment is looking so sad. Having half our stuff gone is really different; especially the coffee table. That’s usually where we ate, in front of the TV. But now there’s nothing but a big empty space. It’s looking so pitiful. If anyone comes to visit these last few days, they’re really not going to be impressed. It’s not cute anymore. Sad.

My brother is also moving this weekend. He’s starting his freshman year at USC, so he’s moving down to Columbia on Saturday. I think he’s excited, but nervous. He sais the other day that he doesn’t really know what to do, since it’s his first time moving. It’s just one of those things you get used to, I guess. It’s definitely a new experience, leaving home and moving away to college. I’ve had a great time, but it’s definitely something you have to do for yourself; no one else can describe accurately what it’s really like.

It’s been very busy around here the last few days. Today is my last day in the office, then all the Orientation Leaders move in and training starts on Saturday. I hope everything is ready for that. I had such a busy day on Tuesday that I didn’t even eat most of my lunch until I was driving home. I snacked throughout the day, though, so I wasn’t just starving. I had muffins and a granola bar and one or two other small things. But I ate my sandwich while driving back home to the West Side at the end of the day. It was so crazy. I felt like a chicken running around with my head cut off the whole day.

As busy as I’ve been at work, I still feel like I’ve been very lazy this summer. I didn’t get done nearly anything I wanted to do. I had big plans to go up to the painting studio and start working on my pieces for my senior show in the spring, to get a head start. I didn’t do it. I had big plans to do a lot of volunteer hours for Bonner. I didn’t do it. I had big plans to start my art therapy internship. I didn’t do it.

I was out of town a lot, though. And a had a lot more responsibility at work that I anticipated. It certainly kept me busy enough. Maybe I shouldn’t feel too guilty about the relaxation time I did have. I tend to feel guilty sometimes when I lay around and watch movies or generally don’t do anything. I have to get out of that habit, because lazy time is really important to unwinding from a busy day.

I can’t believe it’s already the end of summer. School starts in ten days. I’m totally not ready. I don’t even remember my schedule. To me, Converse is about Orientation right now, not about coming back to go to class. I don’t know what I’m going to do. Somehow I have to get everything ready. 

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

