Michael Phelps, the Olympics, and America

13 Aug

Last night I watched Michael Phelps win his 10th and 11th career gold medals, making him the greatest Olympic athlete ever. It’s truly amazing that someone can accomplish so much at such a young age. I myself will never win an Olympic medal, along with most of the world. But it still boggles my mind that there are people out there that can do things like that. It seems like he’s part fish; he was certainly born to swim.

It also makes me wonder what it is I’m born to do. I know myself pretty well, my strengths, weaknesses, talents and interests. But I feel like I’m meant to do something big, and important, and meaningful. I just don’t know what it is yet. Most people would say I have plenty of time to figure it out, but I feel like I need to know right now. I can’t stand not knowing.

I think I’m just getting restless. It’s about time for a change in my life. Luckily, with this being my last year of undergrad, I’ll be making some changes soon. I just don’t know what they will be. I feel like I just went through the college search a few years ago, and then my life was settled. Now there’s so much more to do, so much more to decide. I don’t know what will happen.

Anyway, back to the Olympics. I’m kind of bummed about the coverage this year. I think that probably has a lot to do with the 12-hour time difference between the East Coast and Beijing. I feel like there’s not as much television coverage this year. There’s a lot online, certainly, but I remember in the past there being a lot more of the Olympics on TV. I wish they were showing more than just highlights. I know they can’t show every single athlete in every single event, but I’m kind of tired of just seeing the US and China and one or two other countries. I’m really interested in finding out more about athletes from around the world, such as how they train and how their lives compare to ours here in the States.

I’ve also decided that our flag is pretty obnoxious. I certainly respect the design, the stars and stripes and the symoblism that went into it. But I don’t think we have one of the prettiest flags; in fact it’s quite loud. I tend to like things with clean lines and go for understatement, so this is just a matter of preference. But I think our flag is way too busy. We could have gone for something a little more classy, but we didn’t. How typical. Americans always have to do their own thing.

Leave a Reply

