Beijing Olympics

11 Aug

I really love watching the Olympics. I don’t remember watching too much of them last time in Athens, but I’m sure I did because I recognize a lot of the swimmer’s names. I haven’t really been keeping up with preliminary events and hype leading up to these Olympics, so I felt kind of out of the loop the first few days.

My favorite events are the swimming and diving events and the gymnastics. The track and field events are always pretty exciting, too. The fact that people can train their bodies to do incredible things like that, twisting through the air and landing without falling over, is truly remarkable. I can’t imagine having that ability. I also can’t imagine dedicating your life to something at such a young age in pursuit of a gold medal. It’s just insane the amount of time and money these people must put into their training. It can’t be cheap to train in these world-class gyms and training centers.

One thing is for sure, I will never be an Olympic athlete. That’s something that has most definitey passed me by. I would really, really love to go see the Olympics some day. I saw online that the 2012 games will be in London. Maybe that will be my big chance to live abroad, go to the Olympics, and find a British husband all in one swoop. Couldn’t hurt, anyway. Tickets to the Olympics must be expensive. But I really would love to go. Not terriby many people could say they’ve seen Olympic events live.

Last night i watched the men’s 4×100 freestyle relay. Oh. Man. That’s got to be about the most exciting thing I’ve ever seen of a sports event on TV. Truly amazing.

 http://www.nbcolympics.com/video/player.html?assetid=0811_hd_swb_hl_l0194&channelcode=sportsw

I’m completely hooked on the Olympics. Every four years when I watch them, and listen to inspiring stories, I get emotional. It’s just so incredible to watch. I can’t even begin to imagine what it must feel like to be an athlete, to represent your home country, and to have the chance to meet so many great athletes from all over the world. Just the experience they must have meeting new people and getting to travel to new places, that in itself must be really great. I wish Orientation wasn’t going on starting next week, because all I want to do is sit around and watch the Olympics. They are really inspiring, and just like Aerosmith, I don’t wanna miss a thing!

Leave a Reply

