Bad Spelling and Grammar

10 Aug

One of my pet peeves is when people use bad spelling and bad grammar. I know I’m guilty of the latter on some occasion–after all, my American Educational System has failed me in one or two areas.  But I’m usually pretty conscious of spelling. It irritates me to no end when people misspell words, particularly in advertisements and when they talk about things they really love. I would think, just out of common sense, you would know how to spell the name of something you really like, such as a movie or a band. But it amazes me how many people have really bad spelling. It’s honestly not a difficult thing to learn, you just have to memorize patterns. I understand that it’s sometimes much more difficult for some people than others. But really, for those of us without a serious problem CAN learn to spell effectively. It’s even possible to be a good speller in French (which I am, not to toot my own horn too much)!

Right now, I’m being sketchy again and sitting in the McAlister’s parking lot with my computer, stealing their free wireless. Well, not really stealing, since it’s free, but I’m certainly not sitting inside ordering their food like I should. I’m in my car, right across the street from Ryan’s. Their marquee reads as follows:

CATFISH IS BACK!
ON THE MEGA BAR
EVREY TUE AND FRI
AFTER 4PM

I read that and a part of my soul just died. Really, people, before you put something outside your establishment for all the world to see, double check to make sure that it is correct. Thank you.

One Response to “Bad Spelling and Grammar”

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more! I offer a free service for businesses to have their notices checked.

    Feel free to add your example, and any others, to the new ‘Spelling, punctuation and grammar’ group on Facebook.

    Dallas Willcox,
    Simply Words Editing Services.

Leave a Reply

